Non-toxic Shower Curtain

greenwake

I’ve decided it’s time for a new shower curtain, and I definitely want a nontoxic one.  I don’t even know what my old one is made out of because it was in my apartment when I moved in, but my new one will definitely not be made out of PVC.

PVC, often called “vinyl” in shower curtains, is bad for both you and the environment in so many ways:

  • PVC is made from the highly toxic vinyl chloride monomer.  To learn more about the shocking history of vinyl chloride, check out the film “Trade Secrets.”
  • It is softened with the use of phthalates, known endocrine disruptors, which are not chemically bonded to the polymer and can leech out.
  • Burning PVC generates dioxins, a carcinogen and one of the most toxic synthetic chemicals out there.
  • “New shower curtain smell” is actually a mixture of VOCs, organotins, and phthalates,

View original post 252 more words

Leave a Reply

